Affiliated with
Music Teachers National Association
“…for a more musical tomorrow.”

TMTA Executive Board and Local Associations

TMTA is governed by its Executive Board, which meets three times a year. In addition to the officers and committee chairs, the Board also includes the local presidents of the fourteen local music teacher associations across the state.

Executive Board:
Officers and
Committee Chairs

President
Jerilyn Paolini
paolini@etsu.edu

Immediate Past President

Dr. Melissa K. Rose
melissa.rose@vanderbilt.edu

President-elect
Dr. Kevin Richmond
kdrchmnd@memphis.edu

Executive Secretary/Treasurer
Dr. Olivia Ellis, NCTM
olivia.ellis@bryan.edu

Recording Secretary
Janice Lumpkin
jlumpkinpiano@bellsouth.net

Competitions Coordinator
Dr. Elaine A. Harriss, NCTM
elaineh@utm.edu

Chamber, Vocal and Instrumental Chair
Dr. David Kovac
KOVACD@mail.etsu.edu

Collegiate and Adult Piano Chair
Dr. Arunesh Nadgir
arunesh.nadgir@mtsu.edu

Senior Piano Chair (June TMTA Competitions)
Dr. Ryan Fogg, NCTM
rfogg@cn.edu

Senior Piano Chair (Fall MTNA Competitions)
ChiHee Hwang
chihee.hwang@vanderbilt.edu

Junior Piano Chair
Dr. Esther Park
parkej@etsu.edu

Elementary Piano Chair
Dr. Lora Gubanov, NCTM
loragubanov@gmail.com

Arts Awareness and Advocacy
Deanne W. Irvine, NCTM
jdrwi@aol.com

Auditions and Competitions
Syllabus/Musicianship Tests

Barbara S. Hildebrand
bharmonyhall@gmail.com

Certification
Janet E. Sump, NCTM
janet-sump@utc.edu

Collaborative Performance
Fay S. Adams, NCTM
fadams@utk.edu

College Faculty
Karen Ann Krieger
karen.a.krieger@vanderbilt.edu

Compliance Officer
Kathryn M. Stimson
stimhill@aol.com

Composition
Dr. Jerome Reed
jerry.reed@lipscomb.edu

Directory Editor
Leigh Stringfield
leigh@stringfieldorg.com

Historian
Janice Lumpkin
jlumpkinpiano@bellsouth.net

IMTF
Rachel C. Acuff
racuffribble@hotmail.com

Local Association
Joy Morgan Whetstone, NCTM
cbwjmw@eplus.net

Membership
Dr. Terry McRoberts, NCTM
tmcrober@uu.edu

MTNA Foundation
Judy F. Warrington, NCTM
jfwnctm@bellsouth.net

Newsletter Editor
Dr. Artina McCain
TMTAnewsletter@gmail.com

Publicity
VACANCY

Facebook Page
Karen Caldwell
kcaldwell23@gmail.com

Collegiate Chapters
Dr. David E. Brunell, NCTM
dbrunell@utk.edu

TMTA Scholarship Awards Endowment Fund
Valerie Middleton
valerie.jg.middleton@gmail.com

Web Contact Co-Chairs
Dr. Cahill Smith
csmith@leeuniversity.edu

Dr. Yi-Yang Chen
cheny5@etsu.edu

Wellness
Sandy Triplett
sptriplett@comcast.net


Local Association Presidents
and Collegiate Chapters

LOCAL ASSOCIATION PRESIDENTS

Appalachian MTA (AMTA)
Dr. Esther Park
parkej@etsu.edu

Athens Area MTA (AAMTA)
Martha McCampbell
mccampbellhm@charter.net

Chattanooga MTA (CMTA)
www.facebook.com/chattanoogamusicteachers
Nancy Teague
nteague48@gmail.com

Dickson Renaissance MTA (DRMTA)
Wes Ramsay
augustpr@bellsouth.net

Greater Memphis MTA (GMMTA)
www.memphismusicteachers.org
Laura Triplett
lauradtriplett@gmail.com

Knoxville MTA (KMTA)
Dr. Eunsuk Jung
ejung1@utk.edu

Martin Area MTA (MAMTA)
Linda Williams
normanw1@charter.net

Middle Tennessee MTA (MTMTA)
www.mtmta.org
Veronica Douglas
veronicadouglas0214@gmail.com

Nashville Area MTA (NAMTA)
www.nashvillemusicteachers.org
Amanda Welch
president.namta@gmail.com

Ocoee MTA (OMTA)
Margaret Ann Randolph
mar2600@aol.com

Plateau Area MTA (PAMTA)
Shirley O’Connor, NCTM
saoconnor1996@yahoo.com

Smoky Mountain MTA (SMMTA)
Jeanette Hawk
hawkjntt@aol.com

Upper Cumberland MTA (UCMTA)
Dr. Catherine Godes, NCTM
cgodes@tntech.edu

West Tennessee MTA (WTMTA)
Dr. Terry McRoberts
tmcrober@uu.edu

COLLEGIATE CHAPTERS

Carson-Newman University
Advisor: Dr. Ryan Fogg, NCTM
rfogg@cn.edu

Chattanooga Area
Co-Advisor: Dr. Olivia Ellis
Bryan College
olivia.ellis@bryan.edu

East Tennessee State University
Co-Advisor: Dr. Benjamin D. Caton, NCTM
caton@etsu.edu
Co-Advisor: Dr. Esther Park
parkej@etsu.edu

Middle Tennessee State University
Advisor: Dr. Adam L. Clark
adam.clark@mtsu.edu

The University of Memphis
Advisor: Dr. Kevin Richmond
kdrchmnd@memphis.edu

The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
Advisor: Dr. Eunsuk Jung
ejung1@utk.edu

Vanderbilt University
Advisor: Karen Ann Krieger
karen.a.krieger@vanderbilt.edu