Affiliated with
Music Teachers National Association
“…for a more musical tomorrow.”

Composer of the Year

TMTA’S Composer of the Year is chosen by a committee working with the Theory-Composition Chairman.

  • Nomination by a local association is followed by submission of scores, a tape, and other information.
  • Selection is made on the basis of excellence as a composer and contributions to the art of musical composition in the State of Tennessee.

Previous Composers of the Year are as follows:

2012 Mark Volker Belmont University
2011 Mark Volker Belmont University
2010 David Childs Nashville
2009 Yigit Kolat Memphis
2007 Jonathan McNair University of TN, Chattanooga
2006 Olga Harris Tennessee State University
2005 Gary Nash Fisk University
2004 Lucas Richman Knoxville
2003 Mario Abril University of TN, Chattanooga
2002 Ryan Garber Carson-Newman College
2001 Michael K. Slayton Lipscomb University
2000 Deanna Walker Blair School of Music
1999 Alfred H. Bartles Nashville
1998 Gay Holmes Spears State University, Arkansas
1997 Nancy Faber Nashville
1996 Kenneth A. Jacobs University of TN, Knoxville
1995 Donald Lee Gannon, Jr. Nashville
1994 Paul Brantley Nashville
1993 John Elmquist Memphis
1992 Paul Martin Zonn Nashville
1991 Michael Kurek Blair School of Music
1990 Robert Patterson Memphis
1989 Kenneth A. Jacobs University of TN, Knoxville
1988 Jordan Tang Jackson
1987 Mark Putnam Memphis
1986 John A. Lennon University of TN, Knoxville
1985 William Pursell Belmont College, Nashville
1984 Marjan Helms Memphis
1983 Larry McFatter Cal State, San Bernardino, CA
1982 John Baur Memphis State University
1981 Dwight Gatwood University of TN, Martin
1980 Peter Temko University of TN, Chattanooga
1979 Alfred Kanwischer Peabody College, Nashville
1978 Kenton Coe Johnson City
1977 Donald Freund Memphis State University
1976 Nancy Vandavate Knoxville
1975 Thomas Hutcheson MTSU, Murfreesboro
1973 Robert Jager Tennessee Tech, Cookeville
1972 Gilbert Carp University of TN, Martin
1971 David Van Vactor University of TN, Knoxville
1970 James Richens Memphis State University
1969 Gilbert Trythall Peabody College, Nashville